Appendix B Supplements to the information in the methods section

- 1.) The variable "ward of admission" was grouped as followed:
 - The departments of haematology/oncology and radiation therapy were merged into the ward of admission "HAEMA".
 - All surgical departments were merged into "SURG".
 - Internal medicine, gynaecology, neurology, and interdisciplinary units were merged into "MED".
 - Due to small patient counts, anaesthesiology, urology, and nephrology were classified together as "Other wards".
- 2.) The districts of Berlin are Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg, Lichtenberg, Marzahn-Hellersdorf, Mitte, Neukölln, Pankow, Reinickendorf, Steglitz-Zehlendorf, Spandau, Tempelhof-Schöneberg, and Treptow-Köpenick.
- 3.) The WHO regions are African Region, Region of Americas, South-East Asia Region, European Region, Eastern Mediterranean Region and Western Pacific Region.